Wednesday, May 1, 2013

FAQ: How Do I Legally Give One of My Handguns To My Daughter?

Ask The Michigan Firearms Instructor

Q: Rick, I was thinking of giving my Daughter one of my handguns, what does she need to do to be legal?

A: If she has a CPL, then the both of you need to jointly sign and complete a Michigan Pistol Sales Record Form - Google it. That form should then be submitted to her local law enforcement agency within 10 days after the transfer to get the handgun registered in her name. Do not take the actual pistol to the police station.

If she does not have a CPL, she will need to get a Michigan Pistol Purchase Permit from her local police department. The two of you will need to complete it, sign it, and return it to the police department. A handgun registration will be issued in her name for the pistol.

In either case, she should hang onto her registration certificate for 30 days whenever she is legally carrying, transporting, or possessing the gun.

You are strongly encouraged to not only conduct your own independent research but to also consult with a competent and qualified attorney before acting upon any information in this article. Laws covering self-defense, lethal force, firearms, and the Michigan Concealed Pistol License and their enforcement are always subject to change due to laws being amended, politics conducted in the Prosecutor's Office, and election results at all levels of government. Ignorance of the law, legally speaking, is not a valid excuse for running afoul of it. The penalties and fines imposed upon violators of firearms related offenses are stiff and severe.

About The Author
Rick Ector is a National Rifle Association credentialed Firearms Trainer, who provides Michigan CCW Class training in Detroit for students at his firearms school - Rick's Firearm Academy of Detroit.

Ector is a recognized expert in firearm safety and has been featured extensively in the national and local media: Associated Press, UPI, NRAnews, Guns Digest, Tactical-Life, The Truth About Guns, The Politics Daily, Fox News Detroit, The Detroit News, The Detroit Examiner, WJLB, WGPR, and the UrbanShooterPodcast.

For more info about free shooting lessons for women and Michigan CCW Classes, please contact:

Rick's Firearm Academy of Detroit
Phone: 313.733.74

If this information was useful for you, would you please make a small recurring donation to support this site?

No comments: