Thursday, May 9, 2013

FAQ: What Do I Need To Do To Legally Have A Firearm In My Michigan Home?

Ask The Michigan Firearms Instructor
Q: What do I need to legally have a gun in my home in Michigan?

A: You do not need a license to have a firearm in your home or in your business in the state of Michigan. However, your firearm ownership rights must be intact: no felonies, no misdemeanor domestic violence convictions, no PPOs, no history of mental illness, and etc.

Rifles and shotguns do not require registration, so one can buy a long gun from a gun shop, friend, or a private person without getting a permit.

If a person without a CPL wants to buy a handgun from a non-firearms dealer, he will need to apply for and obtain a 30-Day Pistol Purchase Permit from his local law enforcement agency. He will have 30 days to buy. If he doesn't do so within the specified 30 day window, he'll need another purchase permit. After he buys a handgun, he'll still need to file the paperwork to register his handgun within 10 days.

Alternatively, if a person is buying a handgun from a gun dealer, he will not need a Pistol Purchase Permit. The dealer will run the necessary background checks at his location.

Moreover, if a person has a Michigan Concealed Pistol License, he will not need a Pistol Purchase Permit regardless of where he buys the handgun.

In either case, the handgun will still need to be registered within 10 days or the buyer could be found responsible for a civil infraction which carries a $250 fine as a penalty.

Disclaimer
You are strongly encouraged to not only conduct your own independent research but to also consult with a competent and qualified attorney before acting upon any information in this article. Laws covering self-defense, lethal force, firearms, and the Michigan Concealed Pistol License and their enforcement are always subject to change due to laws being amended, politics conducted in the Prosecutor's Office, and election results at all levels of government. Ignorance of the law, legally speaking, is not a valid excuse for running afoul of it. The penalties and fines imposed upon violators of firearms related offenses are stiff and severe.

About The Author
Rick Ector is a National Rifle Association credentialed Firearms Trainer, who provides Michigan CCW Class training in Detroit for students at his firearms school - Rick's Firearm Academy of Detroit.

Ector is a recognized expert in firearm safety and has been featured extensively in the national and local media: Associated Press, UPI, NRAnews, Guns Digest, Tactical-Life, The Truth About Guns, The Politics Daily, Fox News Detroit, The Detroit News, The Detroit Examiner, WJLB, WGPR, and the UrbanShooterPodcast.

For more info about free shooting lessons for women and Michigan CCW Classes, please contact:

Rick's Firearm Academy of Detroit
Web: http://www.detroitccw.com.
Email: info@detroitccw.com
Phone: 313.733.74

If this information was useful for you, would you please make a small recurring donation to support this site?

Post a Comment